3 products compared

Dexterous hands, compared finger by finger.

Compare dexterous robot hands on Emergence Club by degrees of freedom, drive type, fingertip force and tactile sensing, as published by each maker.

ProductCompanyLaunch dateDegrees of freedomSizePrice
Boston Dynamics Atlas Hands (13-DoF)Boston Dynamics2026-10-0113Not statedNot stated
Sharpa W02 Dexterous HandSharpa2026-09-2421188 × 87.5 × 40 mmNot stated
Unitree Dex5-S Dexterous HandUnitree Robotics2026-09-2122 per hand1:1 human-hand sizeFrom $6,350

Values are as stated in each official source. “Not stated” means the source does not give it.

What is a dexterous hand?

A dexterous hand is a multi-fingered robot hand built to grasp and manipulate objects the way a human hand does.

Dexterous hands are used on humanoids, robot arms, and teleoperation and research setups.

Which fields are compared?

Each row in the table is one listing on Emergence Club. Each column is one field, taken from the official source.

  • Company and country: who makes it and where the company is based.
  • Release date: when the company announced or released it.
  • Fingers: the number of fingers.
  • Degrees of freedom (DoF): total DoF and, where stated, active (driven) DoF.
  • Drive type: for example direct drive, tendon, linkage, or hybrid, as the company describes it.
  • Fingertip force: maximum stated fingertip force.
  • Load: maximum pulling or holding load, when stated.
  • Sensors: tactile sensing, e-skin, and other sensors.
  • Backdrivability: whether the joints can be moved by external force, when stated.
  • Weight and size: as published.
  • IP rating: dust and water protection rating.
  • Open source: whether the company has released it as open source.
  • Price: only when the company has published one.

How is this comparison made?

This comparison uses only data from official sources and shows each field as the company published it.

  • Official sources only. Every value comes from a company website, official announcement, paper, or official repository, and each row links to its sources.
  • Blank when not stated. If a company has not published a field, the cell says "Not stated." We do not estimate or fill in values.
  • No rankings or scores. Emergence Club does not rank, score, or pick a winner.
  • Dates as published. Release dates are shown as the company gave them. Month-only dates are shown as a month.
  • Units as published. Values are not converted or normalized unless the source gives them that way.

Where can I find dexterous hand suppliers?

The Dexterous hands category in the Emergence Club supplier directory lists companies that make robot hands and grippers, each linked to its official website.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best dexterous robot hand?

Emergence Club does not rank robot hands. Compare degrees of freedom, drive type, force, and sensing for your task, and check each official source.

What is the difference between DoF and active DoF?

DoF is the total number of joints. Active DoF is the number of joints driven by their own actuators. Emergence Club shows each as the company states it.

Where does the dexterous hand data come from?

Every value comes from an official source, and each row links to its sources.

Why are some cells "Not stated"?

"Not stated" means the company has not published that field. Emergence Club does not estimate missing values.